Conference Programme

Conference Programme

DAY 1 : Opening

8:00 CET (16:00 JST)
  • Welcome and introduction
(15 min. pause)
9:15 CET (17:15 JST)
  • Keynote Lecture:
  • Prof. Satoshi Kodama PhD
  • "Ethical Challenges of the Covid-19 Pandemic: A Japanese Perspective"
(30 min. pause)
10:45 CET (18:45 JST)
  • Lecture:
  • Prof. Dr. Ann-Katrin Voit
  • Brave New World: How does the Economic Supply and Demand Side Change(d) due to Technology Developments and How will the Markets React in the Future?
11:45 CET (19:45 JST)
  • Discussion and get together

DAY 2: Cultural and Ethical Perspectives

8:00 CET (16:00 JST)
  • Dr. Harald Kümmerle
  • German Institute for Japanese Studies
  • "Contextualizing Data Practices in Japan during CovidID-19 Pandemic: Local and Global Entanglements"
  • Tomoki Sakata, M.A.
  • University of Bamberg
  • "The Employment of Technologies in the Pandemic Era: Germany’s Ethical Reflection and Japan’s Natural Reflex"
(15 min. pause)
9:15 CET (17:15 JST)
  • Niklas Ellercih-Groppe, M.A.
  • University of Oldenburg
  • "“A Signal of Solidarity via Bluetooth”? An Ethical Analysis of the Public Debate on the Corona-Warn-App in Germany"
  • Esq. Sou Hee Yang, J.D.
  • Waseda University
  • "Double-edged Sword: The Lights and Shadows of Using Digital Technologies for COVID-19 Management from the Comparative Study of Japan and South Korea"
(30 min. pause)
10:45 CET (18:45 JST)
  • Keynote Lecture:
  • Dr. Susanne Brucksch
  • "The Locale of Japan. Approaches to the Social Study of (Digital) Health Technologies "
11:45 CET (19:45 JST)
  • Discussion and get together

DAY 3: Privacy and New Technologies

8:00 CET (16:00 JST)
  • Junko Ami, M.Eng.
  • University of Tokyo
  • "Infection Risk Estimation using Locational Information without Privacy Violation"
  • Dr. Gabriel Bartl
  • Centre Marc Bloch, Humboldt University of Berlin
  • "The Acceptability of Mathematical Modeling in the Context of Covid-19"
(15 min. pause)
9:15 CET (17:15 JST)
  • Elise Racine, M.A., M.Sc.
  • University of Oxford
  • "Using Germany’s Corona-Warn-App to Explore the Ethical Challenges of Digital Technologies in Times of Crisis"
  • Dr. Henk J. van Gils-Schmidt
  • University of Rostock
  • "Transformative Technologies: On Choosing Digital Technologies that Transform How We Live and What We Value"
(30 min. pause)
10:45 CET (18:45 JST)
  • Workshop:
  • Davide Viero, M.A.
  • "ICTs and Web Tools to Manage Crises: Between Information and Engagement"
12:45 CET (20:45 JST)
  • Discussion and get together

DAY 4: Socio-Economic Perspectives

8:00 CET (16:00 JST)
  • Tugce Uysal, M.Sc.
  • FOM University of Applied Science for Economics and Management
  • "Covid-19 and the Digital Sector: Is all Gold that Glitters? Technology Acceptance, Socio-cultural Challenges and the Effects on Society"
  • André Kukuk, M.Ed.
  • University of Wuppertal
  • "Digitalization Resistances among Employees in the Covid-19 Pandemic: Opportunities and Limitations of the Digital Transformation from the Perspective of German Employee Representatives"
(15 min. pause)
9:15 CET (17:15 JST)
  • Marianne Franziska Jung, M.A.
  • University of Vienna
  • "Digital Transformation in Germany and Japan - National Discourse on Ethical Questions during the Covid 19 Pandemic"
  • Richard Paluch, M.A.
  • University of Siegen
  • "Tools for Working and Tools for Living – Transformation of Digital Technologies in the COVID-19-Pandemic"
(30 min. pause)
10:45 CET (18:45 JST)
  • Keynote Lecture:
  • Prof. Dr. Robert Ranisch
  • "Digital Technologies during the COVID-19 Pandemic: Ethical Perspectives from a European Perspective"
(15 min. pause)
12:00 CET (20:00 JST)
  • Movie Afternoon

DAY 5: Closing

8:00 CET (16:00 JST)
  • Dr. phil. Kunhao Yang
  • Waseda University
  • "More than a Biological Issue: Co-production Pattern During Knowledge Production of COVID-19 Related Contents in Wikipedia"
  • Dr. phil. Candice Louw
  • Helmholtz Centre for Infection Research
  • "Implementation of Open Source Software Solutions for Digital Public Health in Response to the COVID-19 Pandemic - Perspectives from Germany and Japan"
  • Katharina Dalko, M.A.
  • University Halle-Wittenberg
  • "Communication as a Key to Co-Creation - Transdisciplinary Methods to Integrate Patients into Participatory Technology Development as an Answer to Long-COVID Syndrome"
(15 min. pause)
9:45 CET (17:45 JST)
  • Discussion and Evaluation:
  • Dr. Dennis Krämer
  • Dr. phil. Joschka Haltaufderheide
11:00 CET (19:00 JST)
  • Closing Word and Goodbye

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.